Daniel J. Tearpock, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Subsurface Consultants & Associates, LLC, (SCA) has been recognized as a 2013 recipient of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Honorary Member Award.  This distinction, which represents the third highest honor bestowed by the AAPG, will be formally presented at the 2013 Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  Mr. Tearpock, the Gulf Coast region recipient, is joined in this award by Jeanne E. Harris (Rocky Mountain), Kenneth E. Peters (Pacific), and Abdulla A. Al Naim (Middle East).

Honorees were chosen by the AAPG Executive Committee according to the following criteria: “Persons who have distinguished themselves by their service and devotion to the science and profession of petroleum geology and to the Association.”

SCA President Hal Miller noted, “We extend our sincere congratulations to Dan Tearpock.  His career has been one devoted to technical excellence and service to his profession, the oil and gas industry, and the greater community.  We look forward to his acceptance of this award in Pittsburgh.”

Mr. Tearpock has recently received additional recognition in the petroleum geology community, having been honored as a recipient of the AAPG Division of Professional Affairs 2012 Heritage Award for an individual who is well-known for their substantial contributions to the industry.

The announcement letter issued by the AAPG Executive Committee also recognized two of SCA’s training instructors: J. Frederick Sarg (recipient of the Robert R. Berg Outstanding Research Award – Rocky Mountain), and Brian E. Lock (recipient of the Distinguished Service Award – Gulf Coast).

About SCA

Subsurface Consultants & Associates, LLC (SCA) provides superior upstream consulting, direct hire recruitment, and geoscience and engineering training to stakeholders in the oil and gas industry.   Find out more at www.scacompanies.com.